Blessed Blade

Something I missed on my first impression that makes this much more palatable upgrade is that the blade doesn't need to be ready to fight, which was a major pain point with the lvl 0 version. You no longer need to assess whether or not to add the blesses in case you miss or the target will die, just exhaust it at first opportunity and generate value.

mordequess · 30
Safeguard

Downgrade.

Honestly, don't take it. Apart from the inconsistent wording (no "after" or "when"), in my experience it is actually rare that an investigator moves more than once during their turn. Even if so, if this card is actually important to you you will pack two copies anyway.

The real downside, though, comes from the restriction: "During another investigator's turn"

This is HUGE, because combos with the following no longer work (a buddy using the card's effects you provided):

Hate it.

AlderSign · 226
Shortcut works fine when it's played during its owner's turn. Carson gives an action “as if it were their turn” so it should work there too. Archive Of Conduits and Prophesiae Profana are more situational, but any time these cards move someone more than one location away they don't work with the level 0 Safeguard either. It's true that some movement effects don't combo with the level 2 version, but the level 2 version can pay out more in the right situation (Jack or Ursula often move multiple times in a turn, also any teams using Scout Ahead a lot). To the spirit of the review, I think I only upgrade Safeguard level 0 in like 10-20% of the decks that take it, but I think it's situationally a good value depending on team composition. — Pseudo Nymh · 42
Fair enough, but with both our arguments emphasizing on the situational I think it's still not worth the 2 XP. My main issue with this card was actually playing Shortcut on a buddy (letting us both move), which is no longer possible with this "up"grade. Reading the FAQs for Carson, I am also highly in doubt Safeguard(2) is a good idea, which would be a shame. — AlderSign · 226
If Rita's on the team, you want Safeguard 2. ESSENTIAL in our Joe/Rita trip thru TFA. — MrGoldbee · 1419
It’s very significant that the upgraded Safeguard allows the Guardian to engage the enemies and take the forced effects for revealing or entering. If the Safeguarding investigator has, say, Whitton Greene, she can activate off the level 2 one but not the level zero. Unfortunately, the current rules regime does not recognize “as if it were your turn” as following “as if,” so they would not allow the Safeguard during Carson action (or Quick Thinking, etc.) which obviously should work by rules as written. Still, Safeguard (2) changing the timing to be truly simultaneous is a major deal. — Eudaimonea · 5
"Still, Safeguard (2) changing the timing to be truly simultaneous is a major deal." This. Arguably, it gets much better in a goon (which is the most common Guardian archtype) then in a support like Carson. The option, that the cluever can move to a location with enemy, then investigate without AoO is huge. It also saves the Safeguard an engage action, should that be required or at least desired. — Susumu · 351
Pelt Shipment

Does this card stack if you end a scenario with two Pelt Shipments in hand? e.g. You get +1 experience towards TWO new cards whose names are different?

Does this card stack if you end a scenario with two Pelt Shipments in hand? e.g. You get +1 experience towards TWO new cards whose names are different?

Does this card stack if you end a scenario with two Pelt Shipments in hand? e.g. You get +1 experience towards TWO new cards whose names are different?

littlisk · 1
Due to the term "next item" I think it's a 2xp discount for the first card you purchase (not upgrade) — Tharzax · 1
You don't need to exceed 200 characters, if you ask questions on BGG or Reddit. You don't need to exceed 200 characters, if you ask questions on BGG or Reddit. You don't need to exceed 200 characters, if you ask questions on BGG or Reddit. — Susumu · 351
You disappointed me susumu by forgetting the mythos buster discord. — Tharzax · 1
Should remember this for the future. Personally, I'm neither on Reddit nor Discord, only on BGG. — Susumu · 351
But now I need to ask you what BGG is ;) — Tharzax · 1
Board Game Geek — MindControlMouse · 36
Minh Thi Phan

In this episode of "the writer's thinly disguised fetish":
Take your pick of Asian women! Submissive secretary or Kung-Fu Chick in an Armpit Cheongsam! Haha, I'm drunk but this is funny. How'd it get past editing or whatever anyway? All the other ethnic groups get some level of antistereotypical diversity, not too much 'fitting into the setting', but both sides of the collective American megaphone enthusiast community insultingly agree that fitting in lovecraftian works isn't for minorities. Shame.
What an insultingly comically tokenistic card.

ArchivesIV · 4
Wait. Your problem with this particular FFG diversity hire is that it's "insultingly comically tokenistic"? As opposed to, say, Stella Clark, Daniela Reyes, etc. etc. etc.? — Eudaimonea · 5
Haven't gotten there yet. Right now I'm staring at https://arkhamdb.com/card/60410 trying to figure out why they keep referencing Lovecraft's black cat (who was named something very rude). — ArchivesIV · 4
Haha, just looked at Stella what the ####. The "postman"? Affirmed by the mysterious voices? Did someone on the writing team have a bone to pick? — ArchivesIV · 4
Well, I was going to write something there, but you've appearently locked me out of a good time. Jerk. Ah well. Have fun in looney racist not-racist land. — ArchivesIV · 4
这人在发什么颠? — OnThinIce · 19
可能,他无法再写评论,因为他仍然处于 1 声誉状态,并且他认为,他已被锁定在该网站之外 — Susumu · 351
Minh đến từ Việt Nam phải không? Tại sao lại là tiếng Trung Quốc? — MrGoldbee · 1419
何 — AlderSign · 226
the japanese "nani" kanji had me rofl. Thanks :) — rirze · 2
Grizzled

With always prepared, you draw this card from the discard when you draw an encounter card, before applying its effects FFG answer: With the Always Prepared upgrade, you return a copy of Grizzled from your discard pile to your hand after you draw the encounter card but before resolving its effects. The intent is that you have the copy of Grizzled available to use for that encounter card.

MarcMF2 · 4