
No longer totally useless with the taboo giving you the fight action in addition to the play action. Maybe NatCho likes this in a more asset-heavy build.
With the new 2.4 FAQ, You can attach The Raven Quill to this bad boy and keep it after swapping to Blade of Yoth! (or any other upgrades you might like.)
This adds a ton of potential to one of my favorite support cards in the game by allowing an insanely underestimated weapon to hold a very powerful upgrade. Some benefits include:
Now keep in mind, this is expensive stuff. We're talking about a level 4 card and an "up-to-level-5" card here. So who can make magic happen? The obvious answer would be Roland but I think my fellow goofballs will enjoy running this on Ursula a lot more. You get access to some wonderful charge generation and can manipulate them as you wish to the places you desire! (Using the aforementioned Energy Sap for example!)
While 6 resources isn't exactly cheap for a weapon that provides no boost without some prep work, it enables a ton of potential that was just barely out of reach before this FAQ. It's not busted, hell it's probably not even that strong if you do get it to work, but it might just be enough to make your fellow players have a laugh or raise an eyebrow when the seeker starts dealing 4 damage per hit! (because they totally couldn't do that before... right...?)
Aaaaaaaaaaaaand it's forbidden as of FAQ 2.4. The second card in history to get this accolade, kudos.
It will be interesting to see what will replace it in Harvey Walters starter deck reprints (which are arriving, also confirmed in the FAQ).
This guy is nastier than he seems. 1 damage, even if you deal with him with no way of testing your way out of it can be really nasty if your deck can't handle incidental damage.
Mystics hate this guy. Guardians and survivors handle him pretty well
This is not an economy card, as weird as it seems.
3 resources, 1 action, 1 card (because you drew it). That's 5 resources worth of 'just take the resource action' to play this card. It has to trigger 3 times to be 1 resource positive. So, if you trigger it in the same round you play it, you'll be up 1 resource in 2 rounds and you're probably now failing the scenario because in all that time, you didn't play shrivelling or rite of seeking or another spell to let you actually do anything to the game state.
What this card is is a really expensive draw engine that can generate money in a pinch. In a deck that's swimming in money, it can do good work, but realistically, think of it as a way of turning money now into passive draw later and it will find a better place in your deck than if you're relying on it for resources.